Cherry Ghost: ‘Mathematics’ – Union Chapel, London: 17 March 2011 (HD) © Matthew Burlem

Here’s Cherry Ghost doing an encore of Mathematics at the Union Chapel in London last night. First gig I’ve been to where you sit on church pews! T’was a great night.
Video Rating: 5 / 5

1st Annual American High School Internet Mathematics Competition Begins Monday, September 13

Nashville, TN (PRWEB) August 10, 2004

The inaugural American High School Internet Mathematics Competition (“AHSIMC”), the first competitive high school academic event to rely on the use of the internet, will take place the week of September 13-17, 2004.

The event, free to all participating students and schools, will feature thousands of the nation’s top high school math students.

The AHSIMC was founded by Bradley Metrock, a current Vanderbilt University business school student who participated in competitive mathematic events while in high school.

“The American High School Internet Mathematics Competition is an example of how technology will help level the playing field between the ‘haves’ and ‘have nots’ of our educational system,” Metrock said. “Because the AHSIMC is completely free to students, teachers, and their schools, all of our nation’s children can access the elite world of competitive mathematics through the internet.”

The start-up competition has been embraced by both students and educators alike, including Cindy O’Brien, a math teacher at Haltom High School in Fort Worth, Texas. “For us, the AHSIMC represents a chance to benchmark our high school against the rest of the United States, while giving us a powerful tool to strengthen our mathematics curriculum,” O’Brien remarked.

Teams of up to five students will receive the test, via email, at noon (CST) on Monday, September 13. Teams, after working both at school and at home on the contest throughout the week, must email back their completed exams by noon (CST) on Friday, September 17 to be graded.

Ben Cortopassi, AHSIMC Vice-President and Director of Testing, believes the competition will appeal to established math team programs, as well as newcomers to the competitive math world. Cortopassi explains, “The AHSIMC provides an introduction to competitive mathematics, while simultaneously challenging the brightest math students in the United States.”

A follow-up national press release will announce the winners of the 2004 AHSIMC Exam on Monday, November 1, at 8 AM (CST). The winning team’s members will each receive a video game system, while both the winning team’s members and runner-up team’s members will receive commemorative plaques. Certificates are given to the remainder of the top 5% of participating teams, and additional awards will be presented to the winning team’s faculty sponsor and school.

[For additional information or interview requests, contact Bradley Metrock by phone at (205) 531 3247 from 9 AM to 7 PM Central Standard Time, or email him directly at The AHSIMC will make every effort to accommodate members of the media seeking information regarding a story or feature about the upcoming 2004 Exam.]

2004 AHSIMC Participating Schools

(as of 8/9/04 – deadline to register is 9/8/04)

State:        School (City)


Bob Jones High School (Madison)

Fort Payne High School (Fort Payne)

Holly Pond High School (Holly Pond)

McAdory High School (McCalla)

Minor High School (Adamsville)

Vestavia Hills High School (Birmingham)


Canyon del Oro High School (Tucson)


Albany High School (Albany)

California High School (San Ramon)

Grant High School (Valley Glen)

Gunn High School (Palo Alto)

Mira Costa High School (Manhattan Beach)


American Heritage School (Plantation)

Bayside High School (Palm Bay)

Cedar Key School (Cedar Key)

Deerfield Beach High School (Deerfield Beach)

George Jenkins High School (Lakeland)

JP Taravella High School (Coral Springs)

Miami Beach Senior High School (Miami Beach)

Milton High School (Milton)

Naples High School (Naples)

Sebring High School (Sebring)

Spruce Creek High School (Port Orange)

Tampa Preparatory School (Tampa)

The Bolles School (Jacksonville)

Vero Beach High School (Vero Beach)

Western High School (Fort Lauderdale)


Augusta Preparatory Day School (Martinez)

Chamblee Charter High School (Chamblee)

Collins Hill High School (Suwanee)

The Westminster School (Atlanta)


Dwight D. Eisenhower High School (Blue Island)

Oak Park River Forest High School (Oak Park)

Willowbrook High School (Villa Park)

York Community High School (Elmhurst)


Beth Christopher (homeschooler)


Apollo High School (Owensboro)


Andrew Jackson High School (Chalmette)


Acton-Boxborough Regional High School (Acton)

Boston University Academy (Boston)

Milton Academy (Milton)


Troy High School (Troy)


Bloomington Jefferson High School (Bloomington)


Pearl High School (Pearl)

Warren Central High School (Vicksburg)

North Carolina:    

Carolina Day School (Asheville)

North Carolina School of Math and Science (Durham)

Northwest Guilford High School (Greensboro)

Tuscola High School (Waynesville)

North Dakota:    

Bismarck High School (Bismarck)

Shanley High School (Fargo)

New Jersey:    

Newark Academy (Livingston)

West Windsor Plainsboro High School (Plainsboro)


Durango High School (Las Vegas)

New York:    

Arlington High School (Lagrangeville)

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School (Burnt Hills)

Clarkstown North High School (New City)

Edward R. Murrow High School (Brooklyn)

Guilderland High School (Guilderland Center)

North Shore High School (Glen Head)

Smithtown High School (Smithtown)


Centerville High School (Centersville)

Notre Dame High School (Portsmouth)

Walnut Hills High School (Cincinnati)


George Washington High School (Philadelphia)

Rhode Island:    

Bishop Hendricken High School (Warwick)

South Carolina:    

Christ Church Episcopal School (Greenville)

Denmark-Olar High School (Denmark)

Pickens High School (Pickens)


Riverdale High School (Murfreesboro)

St. Mary’s School (Memphis)

White Station High School (Memphis)


Haltom High School (Fort Worth)

Huntsville High School (Huntsville)

Incarnate Word Academy (Houston)

Science Academy of South Texas (Mercedes)

St. John’s School (Houston)

The Kinkaid School (Houston)

Tom C. Clark High School (San Antonio)

Westfield High School (Houston)


Skyline High School (Salt Lake City)


Lloyd C. Bird High School (Chesterfield)

Thomas Jefferson High School of Science and Technology (Alexandria)


Mercer Island High School (Mercer Island)

Thomas Jefferson High School (Auburn)


St. Mary’s Springs High School (Fond Du Lac)

West Virginia:    

East Fairmont High School (Fairmont)

North Marion High School (Farmington)

University High School (Morgantown)


Natrona County High School (Casper)

Contact Information:

Bradley Metrock

(205) 531 3247



# # #