Tag Archives: Hurt

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It)

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It)

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.

List Price: $ 14.99

Price: $ 6.19

Will a big nice church property hurt my chance of cashing in on a lot?

Question by uncleshen: Will a big nice church property hurt my chance of cashing in on a lot?
There is a 4000 ft2 vacant lot in a bad neighborhood for sale. It is adjacent to a big nice church property (55,000 ft2, most of it is parking lots surrounding a nice church). I am betting that that area will be redeveloped in 20 years. My question is that will the church hurt my chance of cashing in on the land when that redevelopment happens? Or will I be better off buy something surrounded by other houses in the same area?

Best answer:

Answer by Bryan W
Eventually that church will need to expand.You could benefit then.

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Pastor and Author Kwame Frimpong Offers Sound Counsel to the Hurt and Offended

Raleigh, NC (PRWEB) April 13, 2006

Pastor Kwame Frimpong is on an important mission, one that has led him from his homeland of Ghana in West Africa, to the shores of his American homeland. “I gave my heart and life to Christ in Ghana, and God trained me up to be a pastor,” explained Frimpong. “But he called me to the nations, and specifically to the U.S., to speak a message of hope and healing to those bound by wounds from their past.”

The mission of healing and forgiveness resonates deeply with this humble man of God because he has witnessed the devastation that wounds from the past have wrought in the lives of so many. “As a pastor I have counseled many believers who have been nearly destroyed by the actions and words of others,” he said, “from parents, spouses, friends, and siblings. But I know what the Word of God says, and there is healing right for everyone. I have seen so many released from years of bondage once they get a revelation of Christ’s transforming power.”

Frimpong’s passion to see lives changed led him to pen his latest book, “It’s Not Your Fault,” which charts the biblical path that is the only way to true and lasting healing from past hurts. Frimpong can personally relate to such pain. “The rejection I received from my own parents and family actually drove me from my home,” he recalled, “causing years of emptiness and torment, even after I had become Christian.”

That very personal crisis sent Frimpong to God’s Word and prayer for answers. “God showed me that through Christ there is a way of victory,” he said. “I decided to write this book for all those who are going through the same struggles I faced.”

Pastor Kwame explained that often the key to freedom is dealing with unresolved issues from one’s past that have not been adequately addressed. Inner wounds that go as far back as early childhood may be the obstacles that keep individuals from living in victory. “To continue with such weight is simply unnecessary,” declared Pastor Kwame with passion. “My deep desire for readers of the simple, but profound message in this book is to be healed from their pasts and move on in their life serving and worshipping God in fullness of joy.”

“It’s Not Your Fault” is actually the sequel to an earlier book, “Overcoming Offenses,” which Frimpong wrote to teach individuals the scriptural truth about releasing hurts they have received from others. “Let’s face it, the enemy of our souls knows just the right buttons to push to try to get us out of fellowship with each other – and to destroy the peace that is our inheritance as Christians,” he said. “Each of us is susceptible to both real and perceived offenses from others, including family members, fellow believers, and pastors and church leaders. How many relationships have been needlessly destroyed or damaged because Christian have not responded to these attacks with the truth of God’s Word? Both of these books are devoted to addressing this crucial issue in the lives of believers and the church.”

As founder of Christ to the Nations Ministries and pastor of All Nations Fellowship Church in Raleigh North Carolina, Frimpong maintains a full schedule of teaching, counseling, traveling, and speaking. “My passion has always been to see believers discover and fulfill their individual callings,” he explained. “But that can only fully come as we recognize the work of the enemy and learn to use the weapons of spiritual warfare against him. My passion is to teach believers to recognize and defeat the enemy in their personal lives and in their churches.”

# # #