Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It)

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It)

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.

List Price: $ 14.99

Price: $ 6.19

Church organization stripped of charity status

Church organization stripped of charity status
Christ Apostolic Church International – Canada, a Toronto-based charity, has been stripped of its charitable status and faces serious allegations from the Canada Revenue Agency.
Read more on CBC Toronto

Former United Church of Christ President Chooses Adulterous Relationship, Divorce; Creates Crisis
MEDIA ADVISORY, Aug. 20 / Christian Newswire / — Dr. John Thomas, who completed his final term as President of the United Church of Christ in September 2009, recently announced that he is living in an adulterous relationship with a fellow national UCC staff member and is consequently separated from and divorcing his wife.
Read more on Christian News Wire

Church offers new music and art camp for local children
EUREKA — With funding from a grant from Episcopal Community Services, Christ Episcopal Church was able to launch the beginnings of a new outreach ministry this summer by offering a “Music/Arts Camp” for children ages 5 through 12 at the
Read more on Eureka Times-Standard