NJ – Newark: Trinity Episcopal Church
Image by wallyg
Trinity Episcopal Church, at 608 Broad street, was originally built in 1742 at the north end of the town’s common or militia training grounds. Trinity was the first church organized n competition with the established Presbyterian Church. The original stone structure was badly damaged by during the Revolutionary War and rebuilt in 1810, with just the tower and portico being held over from the original. Its iconic steeple rising 168-feet. In accordance with the dictates of the ecclesiology movement, the church was enlarged in 1857 with a chancel and sanctuary.
The church became the Cathedral for the Newark Diocese in 1942. When a fire destroyed St. Philip’s Episcopal Church in 1964, its African-American congregation merged with Trinity’s and became known as Trinity and St. Philip’s Cathedral in 1992.
New Jersey State Register (1977)
National Register #72000793 (1972)