Christian Methodist Episcopal Church Donates Two Million Dollars to Texas College

(PRWEB) December 23, 2004

The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church donated two million dollars to Texas College in Tyler, Texas on Friday, October 29, 2004. The denomination’s College of Bishops, General Connectional Officers, Judicial Council, clergy and lay persons, and alumni of Texas College presented the check to the President, Dr. Billy C. Hawkins. Dr. Hawkins expressed his gratitude to the College of Bishops and the church for the extremely generous gift for operations. The gift continues a legacy of major giving and support by the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church to its educational institutions and the surrounding communities.

Senior Bishop and CEO Marshall Gilmore and seven other members of the College of Bishops were on hand at this momentous event. Members of Texas College new football team witnessed the celebration before leaving town to play Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church and Texas College is especially proud of Bishop Gilmore for his leadership as Chairman of the Board of Trustees and for providing many years of service to the college. During the past decade, the church has contributed twelve million dollars to Texas College and provided tremendous support to the campus and community.

The Christian Methodist Episcopal Church, with over 133 years of rich history, was founded in 1870 in Jackson, Tennessee and operates throughout the United States Haiti, Jamaica, Ghana, and Nigeria. The church owns and operates four historical black colleges: Lane College in Jackson, Tennessee; Miles College in Birmingham, Alabama; Paine College (in cooperation with the United Methodist Church ) in Augusta, Georgia; and Texas College. Additionally, the CME Church operates a historical and major graduate school institution, the Phillips School of Theology, at the Interdenominational Theological Seminary in Atlanta.

For over a century, the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church has been involved in the community and the civil rights movement, and has established significant partnerships with major Christian denominations and civic organizations including the NAACP, National Council of Churches, Children’s Defense Fund, World Methodism Council, One Church One School, Church Women United, and African-American fraternities and sororities.

The presentation of the gift was another historical event for the CME Church. Eight of the denomination’s ten active bishops were present on the Texas College campus for the celebration. In attendance were Bishops Marshall Gilmore of the Eighth Episcopal District; William H. Graves, First Episcopal District; Othal H. Lakey, Sixth Episcopal District; Thomas L. Hoyt, Fourth Episcopal District; Charles L. Helton, Seventh Episcopal District; Paul A.G. Stewart, Third Episcopal District; Lawrence L. Reddick III, Fifth Episcopal District; and Henry M. Williamson Sr., Ninth Episcopal District. Bishop E. Lynn Brown, the present Chairman of the College of Bishops and leader of the Second Episcopal District, and Bishop Ronald M. Cunningham of the Tenth Episcopal District, sent representatives from their respective districts since pressing matters would not allow them to be present.

Texas College relies on philanthropic gifts of all kinds. Donations to Texas College continue to be accepted. Support from alumni, parents, friends, the United Negro College Fund, corporations and foundations allow Texas College to maintain quality education and facilities. You may join the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church in their support for Texas College with your tax-deductible contribution. You can make your tax-deductible contribution payable to Texas College and send it directly to Bishop Marshall Gilmore, 1616 Illinois Avenue, Dallas, TX 75224.

You may visit this website for additional information about this story: